It’s all in the preparation

I just got back from a weekend away with my hubby, when I say weekend it was a 24-hour-door-to-door time slot…… but without children…… so it felt like much more, bliss!

We drove the two hour journey, dropped the kids off at the grandparents and made a dash for it, got to the hotel and checked in delighted with ourselves.

As I jumped in the shower five minutes before we were due to head down for dinner, not unusual for me, and used my hubby’s (now blunt) razor to turn myself into a silky goddess?!, it dawned on me how things have changed.

There was a time when a weekend away would have involved a flurry of preparations – a visit to the hairdresser; maybe some fake tan and definitely vital waxing. Carefully selected outfits, possibly even a new purchase or two. Certainly at the very least a shower in advance!!

My preparation for this trip involved bringing two coughing-and-spluttering kids to the doctor on the morning of our departure, determined to have them drugged up on whatever medicine necessary so that our plans wouldn’t be foiled!

The bags were packed to capacity with all kinds of potions and lotions to cure any possible ailment – vicks vapo rub, saline drops, cough bottles, calpol, nurofen, antibiotics, zirtek, epsom salts, silcock’s base, sudocrem and a thermometer. Along with books, DVDs, cuddly toys and dummies – anything to ensure that our night ahead wouldn’t be canned!! The idea of that would have caused me to lose my money and my mind! Both pretty scary thoughts…

But I’m glad to say thanks to our precision preparation we got our night away as planned. And as I sat at dinner in my mismatched underwear, with my prickly legs and a bottle of cheap champagne, all my cares disappeared (probably the bubbles) and we thoroughly enjoyed our wonderful night away.

Special thanks to our babysitters and baby paracetamol!!

This entry was posted in General Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s all in the preparation

  1. Irene says:

    Lol KC – you in mismatched underwear, I never thought I’d see the day!! I remember a time when you’d break out in a sweat when just thinking of that fashion crime! 🙂

  2. shannon says:

    For the first time my husband and I had our eldest child babyysit whilst we partied away at a cocktail party one street over. She called 5 times in 3 hrs . The youngest called me crying,begging for me to come home. My husband called back the distraught child who then said”dad I’m having a great time! Stay out as long as you want!”. Not exactly a smooth first run….but I like seeing the light at the end of the tunnel.

  3. nidbloggs says:

    There was a time you may not have bothered with the underwear:-) I’m still jealous.com!

Leave a Reply

