Recession Depression

I know it’s not a very imaginative heading but I’m having one of those days. Normally a very upbeat and optimistic gal, even in relation to the current economic crisis, today I am feeling unloved.

I’m back to reality with a bang after a busy week off scouting around Ireland visiting the in-laws and outlaws and having a grand ole time. As my hubby’s Facebook status revealed, he managed to rack up 3 flights, 2 weddings, 2 rounds of golf, 2 trips to the beach, 1 christening and a few beers along the way totalling almost 1250 miles. Lots of petrol-guzzling fun times thanks to the great relationship I have with my very flexible friends – Laser and Credit.

So it shouldn’t come as any surprise to me (or you) that when I checked my bank balance today it was of course, upturned, on its head, tipped off balance. On seeing those big bold letters OD, which I think stand for Oh Dear, I felt rejected. So I turned to my reliable credit card for consolation. Unfortunately he wasn’t showing me the usual comfort and back up that I have become accustomed to. ’It’s not me, it’s you’, he whispered (that’s what happens)… leaving me heartbroken.

Feeling the loss, I decided to wallow in my own self pity and with a good sense already of what the result would be, I went online to discover that my house is worth €125, 000 less than we paid for it. Yes that’s right, a mere 125,000 compared to some.

So I’m sitting under my desk having a ‘Stop the world, I want to get off’ moment when my unwillingly unemployed hubby calls from our beloved shoebox to remind me about the reminder-please-pay letter for my daughter’s college fees. Oops, kinda forgot about that…. boo flippin’ hoo.

And what will I do? I’ll finish work, go home, have dinner, put the kids to bed, go to bed and probably not feel so bad about it tomorrow.

After all there’s plenty more fish in the sea (cards in the bank!)… or so they say…

This entry was posted in General Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recession Depression

  1. Joanne says:

    it won’t be an mbna one!! Hope things seem better in the morning 🙂

  2. Rachael says:

    shur don’t bother paying my fees, i’ll just continue to go anyway.. they won’t make a canoe out of me..

Leave a Reply

