Spilt Milk

“There’s no point crying over spilt milk”, that’s what my dad said when I rocked up at 16, just before starting my leaving cert year, and announced I was pregnant. When I say rocked… it was more like cowered full of shame with my tail between my legs (not literally, just for the record I don’t have a tail!)

My mother didn’t quite share his ‘ah well, there you go’ attitude in that moment and the crying and questions that I imagine are normal in this type of situation ensued. Making your mother a granny at 38 may be hard for her to take but it wasn’t that, it was the worry for her ‘baby’, aka me, and my future.

Maybe it was easy for my dad to say, given that my mum is the rock, the one that keeps all sides going and ultimately the one who would have to deal with things. But he was right! What seems like a disastrous situation at the time usually isn’t as bad as it seemed when you look back. No task is insurmountable, every situation overcome-able (you know what I mean). I see it time and time again where we get so worked up over things and everything works out just fine in the end. ‘Every cloud…’, and all that.

In my case, everything worked out just perfectly in the form of a beautiful little girl who is now a beautiful kind respectful funny intelligent WOMAN (oh I cringe to call her that) who I am so proud of.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s hasn’t always been easy (but that’s for another day’s blog). It’s been a team effort to produce such a good girl and my mum and dad did a lot of the hard work building the foundations for her life. But it’s been worth it! I don’t know the person I would have been if my life had been different but I don’t want to know. I have the best family in the world, I burst with pride when I think of them (the two new additions since then included).

I feel very lucky 🙂

Point to note:

I’m 37 now and it’s not inconceivable that I could be a granny myself by 38. But after I’d get over killing her for being soooo stupid (do as I say, not as I do), there’s no doubt that I would step in with all the support and loyalty my family showed me – I was brought up well.

This entry was posted in General Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spilt Milk

  1. Irene says:

    Love this, Ur a natural KC and yes ur family rock – be very proud of them all!!!

  2. Mom says:

    We are very proud of you and if you continue to say nice things about us we promise to be your no. 1 followers on blogg !

Leave a Reply

