Home is where the clutter is

I recently saw a photo on a friend’s facebook page; his beautiful ornate fireplace was surrounded by a big ugly cage, aka a fire guard! I could relate to this…

Thanks to my kids I hate my house. This is the same house that we bought eight years ago and spent every penny we had (and didn’t have) buying.  And then every penny after that lovingly ‘doing it up’. Weekends of stripping wallpaper, painting and DIY. Oh the joys – not! But we were creating our beautiful home, our nest, our future. We were so excited.

And then the future happened! We got married, we had kids. It’s been a very happy, busy and bleary eyed time. Anyone who has small kids knows exactly what I mean. But alas my house has gone from a haven to a horror. I now share my kitchen with a bike, a buggy and a miniature kitchen.  And clutter, clutter galore. Storage? What storage?

It’s an obstacle course where you choose your steps carefully to make it through unscathed. Tripping over and walking into things has become a way of life for me. The stair gate is the bane of my life. The once trendy decor and matching furnishings are buried beneath toys, seats, monitors and all the paraphernalia that comes with kids. The floors are sticky, the walls are graffiti’d, and there are crumbs everywhere!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So every night when they go to bed, we tidy up….stacking the toys in the ever expanding ‘corner’, putting things in piles (it looks neat but doesn’t last), baby wiping up the stickiness, picking up crusts and if energy or interest allows, a quick run around with the hoover.

And that’s it – we relax on the almost clean couch for a quick episode of Criminal Minds before bedtime and we’ll do it all over again tomorrow. So yes I hate my house but am presuming that will pass as they get older and a lick of paint doesn’t seem like a futile task. Or maybe we’ll sell up and leave it all behind, oh hang on…….. I hear negative equity coming a knocking!

I’m still happy mind you, I’ve a healthy and loving family so what’s a bit of clutter – eh?

Points to note:

  • On the upside: By pure luck we had invested in a leather couch, an absolute must with kids.
  • Not so clever: We turned our pokey little bathroom into a cool shower room, a no no when you have small kids – you NEED a bath.
This entry was posted in General Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Home is where the clutter is

  1. Niamh says:

    I feel or rather felt your pain but it will pass, they get older, the toys get smaller as are replaced by books, Nintendos and x-boxes. Stair-guards come down, showers win over baths and pocket money works as an incentive for them to tidy up after themselves! Hang in there:-)

  2. Ali oates says:

    Well KC Bloggs. What can I say. That speech has been bursting to get out of you for a while now…Hopefully just spilling it all out has reduced the clutter already, most of the clutter we store is all in our heads.
    Your house is by the way , although a( wee) bit cluttered, a fantastic place to be. We all love to visit so who cares about clutter. By the way the more room you have the more clutter, take it from me.
    Your DIY days will come back, I can see you vividly breaking down doors when you were 6 or 7 months pregnant, that energy will be BACK !!!
    You have a skill for the interior design so dont let that dissappear. Cherish the kids while they are young cause as they get older not only the clutter disappears but they do also, busy with Frriends!! pubs, clubs etc etc….
    Just keep smiling and keep avoiding the clutter, just for a little while longer 🙂 x

  3. KC bloggs says:

    Thanks girls. I’ll try to stay sane so 🙂

  4. Clare says:

    Thanks for the smile on a Monday 🙂 Any chance of a quick clean and tidy at my gaff?!

  5. Bee says:

    I am in the same boat KC, but thankfully my house wasn’t so beloved by me before the kids came along 🙂 Everytime I go to Ikea I get really excited by the storage possibilities, then I do nothing about it.
    As I recently remarked to John, sure in a few years time they will be grown up and the toys will be consigned to the attic or given away.

  6. Michelle Murray says:

    I feel your pain Karen – but agree that it does get better. Looking at pictures of my house over the years the clutter does decrease as the toys get smaller. In my case there was light at the end of the tunnel. We had even started to re-decorate again periodically. And then bam. Surprise baby number 4 is on the way and we are back to square one. The stair gates will once again be errected to walls that were all re-plastered 2 years ago when they were taken down. The unclutttered kitchen will now again house a high chair, changing table, and boxes of baby nappies and cleaning stuff. The living room will have to be re-arranged to accommodate a moses basket and baby bouncer. And the hall will once again be home to the buggy and car seat. Our small compact book unit from IKEA will need to be replaced with large buckets to house the baby toys. We had been contemplating changing our tired old leather couch to a nice warm, soft fabric one that you cannot get out of once you sink your tired bones onto it. We felt that the kids were old enough to eat at the table and make it to the toilet to be sick (I have lost count of the times they threw up on it!) This plan has now gone out of the window – the couch stays for another 3 years at least! Oh the joys!!! Just remember though that you could have a pristine house from monday to friday without the little divils – but nothing beats the welcome that you get after a hard day at work when they are all rushing to the front door to give you a hug and a kiss – delighted to see you home again. It makes it all worth it in the end!

  7. Mom says:

    Be under no illusions Karen. Yes it will get better but temporiarly. My youngest is 29 now but I have a cot , stairgate ,safety rail on the bed, pile of toys in the corner tricycles and swing in the garden not forgetting the all important thermometer !………..and amongst all that lots of busy happy days . Thanks , Mom

  8. Pingback: Life begins at… ?? | KC Bloggs

Leave a Reply

